Home       Contact Us
790 Shaw Station Road, Leitchfield, KY42754
Phone: 270.259.4011 | Fax: 270.259.4756
Menu View
Governors Scholars
GSP Candidate Jackson Parker and  four GCHS GSP alternatesParker, Alternates Selected for Governors Scholars Program

Grayson County High School junior Jackson Parker (center) has been selected to attend the 2017 Governor’s Scholars Program, a five-week, summer residential program for outstanding Kentucky high school students between their junior and senior year.

Also representing GCHS as alternates are: (l – r) Jasmine Smart, Jonathan Loughran, Sydney Rogers, and Sarah Bratcher

The Governor's Scholars Program was initiated in 1983 to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders. Students who are selected attend free of charge, with financial support for the Program provided by partnerships between the Office of the Governor, the Kentucky State Legislature, and private enterprise.

The sessions will be hosted by Morehead University, Murray State University, and Northern Kentucky University. The core curriculum provides for a Focus Area or “major” assigned according to scholar preference on the application. Parker’s choices range from Forensic Science, to Music Theory and Performance, to Political and Legal Issues.

Additional General Studies courses frequently include service-learning in the community, and Seminar or discussion-based small group sessions emphasize respectful debate and discussion.

Participating students must be nominated by their high schools to compete in the highly-selective statewide process, similar to that of prestigious colleges and universities. It starts with an academic profile that includes difficulty of course load, GPA, and at least one ACT or SAT test score. Other factors include extracurricular activities and leadership positions, a history of volunteer service, and jobs. Teacher recommendations and an original essay round out the requirements.

In addition to a brief taste of college life, participants meet students from all over the Commonwealth, and enjoy many new and exciting experiences. Scholarships and other opportunities often come along with graduation from the program, as well.
back button
Print This Article
district home
Grayson County Schools District Office

790 Shaw Station Road, Leitchfield, KY 42754
Phone: 270.259.4011
Fax: 270.259.4756

© 2018. Grayson County Schools. All Rights Reserved. School CMS Created by eSchoolView
crusade for children